USW Local 2020

705-675-2461 Toll Free: 1-800-998-5105

About Us

We are the guardians of workers’ rights. Local 2020 and its members are on the front lines in the struggle for social and economic justice. We provide our activists with training to empower the membership in their workplaces to strive for a healthy and safe workplace and ensure the employer provides an environment that is free from intimidation and harassment.

The United Steelworkers is everybody’s union. Local 2020 was created in December 1999 and comprised 8 existing Locals from Parry Sound, North Bay and Sudbury.  Today we service 60 different workplaces with over 2200 members from Orillia to Kirkland Lake to Elliot Lake and Sudbury.  The membership family comprises a complete cross section of the labour market including miners, office and bank workers,  technical workers and professionals, legal and social workers, gas workers, manufacturing, security, construction, mechanical, iron workers, hotel and service workers, truckers, foundry workers, even auto dealerships.

Together we are better.  Together we are stronger. The USW membership in Canada and the United States is 800,000 strong and has another 350,000 retirees many of whom are still very active in the Union.  We are the largest Industrial Union in North America representing workers in nearly every sector of the economy.  This diversity reflects our own amalgamated local 2020 including Energy, Paper, Rubber, Cement, Manufacturing, Public Sector, Health, Mining, Steel, Aluminum, Education, Glass, Utilities, Hotel, Retail, Oil, Pharmaceutical, Chemical, the Trades and many more.  The USW is building strategic partnerships with other Unions internationally to help protect workers in this era of Multi-National Corporations and International Trade Deals to help protect your rights, your health and your jobs.

Executive Board / Area Reps

President: Roger Morin
Vice President: Derek Teolis
Recording Secretary: Chad Machum
Financial Secretary: Terri Rinta
Treasurer: Sherri Hawkes
Guide: Dave Ligi
Guards Dan Chisolm

Robert Laferriere

Herb Watkins

Jennifer Skiffington

Staff Reps:

Pascal Boucher (Area Coordinator)

Mike Scott

Lisa Dale